University of Moratuwa, Katubedda, Sri Lanka.

+94 713 826 109

BlogDistrict ProjectProfessional Development

27th Rotaract District Conference

Everything comes to pass, nothing comes to stay. So does the Rotaract year of 2017/18. District Conference indicates that the year has come to its end. 27th Rotaract District Conference was held on the 5th of May 2018, at the Bandaranayake Memorial International Conference Hall (BMICH) with the participation of over 500 Rotaractors. The event was organized by the Rotaract clubs of Colombo West, Panadura, University of Colombo – Faculty of Science and University of Moratuwa.

With the lightning of the oil lamp, the day’s proceedings began. District Sergeant-at-Arms, Rtr. Azeeza Najimudeen called the house to order and then the 27th Rotaract District Conference was called to order by the DRR Rtr. PP. Anuradha Senanayake. Rotaract formalities were done by Rtr. Oshadha Abhayasundara. The co-chairperson Rtr. Kanishka Wijayasekara then delivered the welcome speech.

DRR Rtr. PP. Anuradha Senanayake addressed the gathering, mentioning all the highlights of the Rotaract year 2017/18. Following on, DRCC Rtn. PHF Bobby Shrinivas mentioned the great work done by rotaractors throughout the year. Afterwards, the District Governor Rtn. Dr. Ven. Bandagiriye Somawansa Thero addressed the gathering and appreciated all the good work done. Then the keynote speaker Mr. Yasas Hewage spoke about searching one’s passion without losing sight of the opportunities and the importance of investing in opportunities, giving a perfect ending to the first session of the day.

In the second session, first speech was done by Youth Services Committee Chair Elect, Rtn. PHF G.S. Sylvester and admired the efforts taken by rotaractors to make the world a better place. Next, the DRR Elect Rtr. PP. Amjath Yoosuf took the stage and explained his vision for the movement and his action plan. Mr. Dilith Jayaweera, Keynote speaker for the second session spoke about innovation. District Governor Elect Rtn. PHF. Dushan Soza made the last speech of the day and spoke about the importance of bringing positive change to the movement.

In parallel to the Rotaract Conference, the election of the DRR Nominee was held. Rtr. Krishan Balaji and Rtr. PP. Aaqeel Jiffry contested for this prestigious position, where Rtr. Krishan Balaji was declared as the winner eventually.

The Awards Ceremony followed the announcement of election results. Awards were handed over to the winners of ‘President of the Month’, ‘Secretary of the Quarter’ and ‘Rotaractor of the Quarter’ titles. International Services Director of Rotaract Alumni Mora, Rtr. Rochelle Silva was recognized as the Rotaractor of the 3rd Quarter.

The efforts put in by the clusters for the completion of sustainable initiatives were also recognized during the awards ceremony. Project ‘Habitat for Humanity’ carried out by the Cluster 7 was recognized as the best cluster initiative for the Rotaract year 2017/18.

After some announcements by the District Sergeant-at-Arms, Rtr. Azeeza Najimudeen, the Rotaract District Conference came to a conclusion with all the participants making their way to the stage for a one-last group photograph in the 27th version of this grandeur event.

Album: Flickr

By Rtr. Chamara Herath

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *