University of Moratuwa, Katubedda, Sri Lanka.

+94 713 826 109

BlogDistrict ProjectProfessional Development

Rotaract Red Carpet Affair – 2018

Glamour is not just a word, it is a mysterious event where glorious people sparkle on a red carpet. Rotaract Red Carpet Affair was indeed a glamour which showcased the prominence of Rotaract District 3220 to the world. The event was revealed on the 6th of May at the Eagle’s Lakeside Banquet Convention Hall in an eminence manner.

Giving the life to the event, one of the comperes for the night, Rtr. PP. Oshadha Abhayasundara made a dramatic entry to the stage. Then the event co-chairpersons Rtr. PP. Amitha Banadara and Rtr. Kanishka Wijayasekara were invited to the stage to welcome all the participants to the event.  

The day’s first Rotaract Community award, the most popular Professional Development Project for the year 2017/18 was awarded to project “Are You Ready?”, a project was done by our very own root club, the Rotaract Club of University of Moratuwa.

Next up was the most anticipated showdown for the night, the Rotaract King and Queen contest, where all the participants had a great time, giving their best performances and showcasing their very own talents to entertain the rest of the crowd in the house. Out of all the fun, Rtr. Sanduni Hettigoda and Rtr. Ahmed Zeeshan was titled as Rotaract Queen and King respectively. Then the following Rotaract Community awards were presented.

  • Most popular International Services project – Ceylon Safari by the Rotaract Club of University of Moratuwa
  • Most popular Club Services project – Frimi Conquer Colombo by the Rotaract Club of Achievers Lanka Business School.
  • Most popular Community Services project – Grama Probodaya by the Rotaract Club of University of Moratuwa.

Most popular individuals of the Rotaract district 3220 were identified as follows amidst the applause of all the participants.

  • Most Popular District Committee Member – Rtr. PP. Oshadha Abhayasundara 
  •  Most Popular Rotaractor (Female) – Rtr. Thejani Wijewardena 
  • Most Popular Rotaractor (Male) – Rtr. Piyath Gunawardane
  • Most Popular Secretary – Rtr. Miyuru Dharmage
  • Most Popular President – Rtr. Akhila Wijetunga

Following special awards were presented to the ones who made the year 2017/18, a live one with their special talents.

  • Loudest President – Rtr. Navindu Hettiarachchi 
  • Hyperactive President – Rtr. Usama Liyaudeen 
  • Most Flirtatious President – Rtr. Akhila Wijetunga 
  • Most Innocent President – Rtr. Nabeel Shafaz
  • Most Rebellious President – Rtr. Suharsha Madhurya 
  • Most Dramatic President – Rtr. Adeesha Dharmakeerthi 

What came next, put the icing on the cake and made the night a one to remember.  The crowd was enthralled by the tunes of the band and the songs of the guest performer for the night – Sanuka Wickramasinghe and had the best time one can ever had in his or her entire Rotaract life.

Album: Flickr

By Rtr. Chamara Herath

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *